Spinach & Artichoke Chicken


s&pchickenpic

Some people who follow the Paleo diet include dairy into their diet. I try not to, but I can’t resist that cheesy goodness you see up there. Try to get the best quality cheeses you can afford for this recipe. I threw a little shit fit when I discovered Weis brand shredded cheeses include corn starch and potato starch (So deceitful, I can’t believe I didn’t read the label before I bought it!). This is almost as misleading as IHOP putting pancake batter in their omelets. The Weis cheese is still gluten free, but adds extra carbs I don’t need. Sargento is a pretty good brand. When I have a little extra time though, I like to shred my own cheese. I like the texture and it tastes better. You will notice a difference.

So, anyway, this recipe started as Closet Cooking’s Hot Spinach and Artichoke dip. When I made it the first time I thought it wasn’t a good dip consistency, not runny enough. Still tasted great though. The man friend and I devoured a pie dish full of this, dipping broccoli florets into it and that turned into a meal. While we were eating, I was thinking of how good this would taste on top of chicken or with chicken bites throughout it. After testing it out last night, turns out, it is amazing! And super easy! You could even make this version in your crock pot if you wanted to. Anyway, try this recipe out and let me know if you have any questions!

 

 

Ingredients:

.5-1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-1.5 inch cubes. I used one chicken breast the length of my hand for the one pictured here.

1 10 oz pack of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained. Squeeze all the water out of it.

1 14 oz can of artichoke hearts, quartered and roughly chopped

Half of a small onion, finely diced

1/2 teaspoon minced garlic

1 clove of garlic, grated

2-3 tablespoons unsalted butter, or whatever fat you like to cook with. Bacon fat would be interesting.

5 oz cream cheese, room temp (I get an 8 oz pack and slice a little over half of it…I don’t really measure it)

1/2 cup sour cream (full fat=less carbs)

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1 cup grated parmesan cheese, divided

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese, divided

1/2-1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

Salt and pepper to taste

 

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grab a pie dish or something similar.

1. Melt a tablespoon of butter on medium heat in a skillet. Add diced onions, minced garlic, artichokes, and salt and pepper to taste. Cook until onions are translucent.  About 5 minutes. Remove from pan and add to a large bowl to cool off.

2. Melt another tablespoon of butter in the same skillet you used for the artichoke mixture. Add the diced chicken with salt and pepper and italian seasoning. Cook just until it’s slightly under done. If there is any juice in the pan, drain just a little bit. This chicken is going to cook again in the oven. Add this slightly under done chicken to the bowl with the artichoke mixture to cool off.

3. Add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl-the cream cheese, sour cream, grated garlic clove, mayo, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, 1/2 cup mozzarella, and spinach.

4. Mix everything together with your hands or a spatula…whatever… you just want to make sure the chopped spinach is evenly throughout the mixture. Hands work the best.

5. Poor the mixture evenly into your pie dish and bake it for 20 minutes.

6. When the 20 minutes are up, take it out of the oven and top with extra parmesan and mozzarella cheese (as much cheese as you want. I say the more cheese on top the better!). Put it back in the oven on broil until the cheese is golden brown on top. If you have a broiler like mine, it happens very quickly. So keep an eye on it. After that you’re done! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

