Thumbprint Cookies


thumbprintcookies

These paleo cookies go fast in my house. I have a hard time not eating them all when they come right out of the oven…I’ve burnt my tongue a lot…I’m just impatient…whatever…So, I found this recipe on this blog – Bakerita and it is probably the quickest paleo recipe ever.  4 ingredients, 11 minutes in the oven. I don’t think home made cookies get better than that. Oh and I almost always double this recipe. If I don’t feel like cooking them all at once, I’ll refrigerate the dough for up to two days. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 ¼ cup Bob’s Red Mill Almond Meal/Flour or throw some whole almonds in a food processor.

3-4 tbsp coconut oil, melted. Coconut oil is amazing. You can use it to moisturize your hair and skin and it smells good too. Go get some.

1.5 tbsp pure maple syrup…you can probably use honey too.

1/4-1/2 cup of fruit preserves or jam. I use either Bonne Maman brand or St. Dalfour. In the pic I posted with this recipe, I used Bonne Maman’s cherry and raspberry preserves. I try to use preserves or jam that’s simply fruit with fruit juice or something sweetened with evaporated cane juice/cane sugar.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper if you have it. It’s okay if you don’t. You’ll just have a cookie sheet to clean afterwards.

2. In a medium or large bowl, mix together all ingredients except for the preserves/jam. If the mixture seems a little too dry, add a little more (by teaspoons) melted coconut oil until it’s at the consistency you like. The dough will be crumby. Throw in a ziploc bag and refrigerate for 20-30 minutes or however long you want to wait. I’ve put them straight in the oven without refrigerating before and they were just fine. Just harder to form them into balls. If I do refrigerate them, I put the dough in a big ziploc bag and flatten out the dough in the bag as thin as I can, then put it in the freezer or refrigerator. Cools faster that way. Did I mention I’m impatient?

3. Form balls from the dough, about the size of a ping pong ball (1-1.5inch?). Make a well in the center of each cookie with your thumb. That’s why they’re called thumbprint cookies. Duh.

4. Bake for 5.5  minutes. Then, take them out of the oven and fill the middle of the cookies with whatever preserves/jam you have. Put them back in the oven for another 5.5 minutes or until very light golden brown around the edges.

Leave a Reply

